NavSci Student Shines in the Search for Young Climate Scientists

By: Russell P. Samson, EPS-Science

Doreen Beatriz Zarate was declared champion in the 2019 Search for Young Climate Scientists organized by the Climate Change Commission of the Office of the President of the Philippines held last November 22, 2019 at One Esplanade, Pasay City. She successfully presented and defended her project entitled Rapid Assessment of Food Colorants Using Onion Root Tip Chromosomal Aberration Assay and Fourier -Transform Infrared Spectroscopy: a Road to Food Safety. Mr. Don King O. Evangelista is the coach/trainer of Zarate.

A total of 14 research papers were submitted by different science high schools in National Capital Region. The researches focused on innovative technologies or solutions addressing the food, water and energy nexus highlighting the multi-sectoral relationship of climate change education sector. Then the National Panel of technical experts from Climate Change Commission selected the top five entries advanced in the final round. The selected top 5 were given 10 minutes to present their study and another 10 minutes to answer the questions of the judges.

The panel of judges were composed of personalities from different government agencies such as  Dr. Leandro Belmonte Buendia, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Awardee, Dr. Rosa Perez, member of National Panel of Technical Expert of Climate Change Commission, Heleena Claire  Espina, Chief of Water Resources Information Sector of the National Water Resources Board, Chief Joel DizonLagas, Head ofProgram Development Division of Bureau of Agricultural Research of Department of Agriculture , Ms. Marietta Tejada, Supervising Science Research Specialist at Department of Energy, Dr. Carlos Primo David, Chairperson of Board of Judges.

Also, the said activity was graced by Dr. Theresa Mundita-Lim, Executive Director of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity, Representative Sarah Jane I. Elago of the Kabataan Partylist,  Mr. Erwin Vicman R. Lara, Committee Secretary of the House Committee on Climate Change, Director Ronilda R. Co of the Department of Education – Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Division, Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda of the Lone District of Antique, and Dr. Genia V. Santos, Chief of Curriculum, Learning and Management Division of the Department of Education – NCR.

The other winners in the said competition were the students from Quezon City Science High School (2nd Place) and students from Paranaque Science High School (3rd Place).